An older generation

Hey Everyone,
     Right now I’m watching my parent play the Wii together. It’s a very odd moment. A few years ago my parents would never have even imagined doing something like that. They never even considered getting a computer until we finally convinced them we could use it for school. They are playing bowling, and my mom is whooping my dad. The Wii is truly a revolutionary device. It has the ability to bring old and young together. Tech savvy or not people like the Wii.

     We also got a new TV on which to play our Wii. It is a small 19″ tv, but we don’t use it for anything but the Wii. We don’t watch any TV at all, well just the news. The great thing about it is it is HD (720p) and we are now ready for the February 17th switch to DTV. It has a great picture compared to our old analog television.
      There is a tech community on the internet which fully embraces everything tech. We read about geeky tech stuff, we lust after geeky stuff, we write about. But then there is another niche of people all together. They don’t want to read and write about this stuff, but they want to enjoy it. This is the group of people that will begin to close the digital divide. As more people begin to experience technology in things like the Wii and the iPhone. They will crave more and it will become a normal part of everyones lives.

    This wasn’t a long post, but there is so much content on the web I’m sure you guys won’t mind having a few extra minutes trimmed off your reading time. I also don’t have anything else to say about this, and I want to join my family in playing Wii.

Gotta Go,

Ben Willis

6 Responses

  1. Wow! That’s pretty cool! Did you ever say something about having a Wii? If so I don’t remember. My friend has a Wii. I love it!!!

  2. I thought you said you were going to make headers every day? How come you haven’t done one recently?

  3. I’ve been really busy lately. I was also on vacation for a few days. I hope to return to my regular routine now. Thanks for sticking with me.

  4. Oh cool! Where did you go? I was getting pretty lonely.

  5. I wan on a camping trip with my youth group. I’m glad you stuck around.

  6. [...] imagined doing something like that. They never even considered getting a computer until we finallhttp://geekhangout.wordpress.com/2008/05/10/an-older-generation/Making digital TV converters work when power is cut off Miami’s Community NewspapersLike so many [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

