Dilbert

Hey Everyone,

     A few years ago when my family got our first computer I started reading the comics online. Some of my favorite comics are Foxtrot, Babyblues, Pearls Before Swine, Garfield, Calvin and Hobbes, and Dilbert. This post is about Dilbert.

     Many of the websites for these comic strips are great. But, Then you have some that aren’t so great. I like a comic site that showcases the comic strip on the main page. I also enjoy quick load times since if I was reading these in the paper there would be no load time. I don’t appreciate it when a site uses flash or java or something to display the strip. But I also don’t want a lot of ads or links. 

    Dilbert, one of my most favorite strips, has recently redone their website. The site is in a beta stage, and is currently breaks some of my comic strip viewing rules. The strip itself comes up last when you load the site, but I love Dilbert so much that this doesn’t matter to me. 

    Some of the really cool features of the site are Animations. Animations are exactly what they sound like. They are short animated comics strips that give you a better idea of the personality behind the characters.

    Another cool feature is Mashups. Mashups is simply user generated punch lines for the strips that Scott Adams (creator of Dilbert) makes. You can add your punch line and let other people see it.

    I’m sure the people behind Dilbert are not opposed to adding even more cool new features that no other strip has. This is a new field of creator/viewer  interaction that I have never seen before. It shows that Web 2.0 is reaching to every limb of the web. The interaction between people on the web has made sites so much more functional. It gives reason for the web that didn’t exist before. Some day things like this will be very common place. Technology will no longer be something that people don’t understand or think is for business. Sites like Facebook, Myspace, and services like iTunes, eBay are making even the most technologically ignorant people comfortable with technology. As we push forward you have to think, Where will we be in 5 years, 10 years, 25 years. When simple things like interaction on the web become standard parts of everyones lives there will be little standing in the way of technological progress. As the digital divide closes research and development will accelerate at frightening speeds. The ordinary person will become entrapped in a world of fiber and code. That is why interaction between people online must become as personal as possible.

    Well I hope I didn’t bore you. It’s saturday, and I don’t anticipate posting tomorrow, but I hope to be back on monday.

Gotta Go,

Ben Willis

Leave a Reply

