It’s Wednesday May 7th 2008

Hey Everyone,

     I know I promised you a bigger post yesterday. I really wanted to, but I never got time. And it wasn’t for reasons like playing games or anything. I was very busy finishing my school for the year. I woke up yesterday and posted that short snippet about not being able to post over the weekend. After that I dove right in to school. I did one lesson in math, and then I had to go running. I got back from running, and ate lunch. I did another math lesson and a math test, and then the end of the year math test. School usually ends at about 3:00 everyday. Yesterday It ended at about 4:30 because I just really wanted to be done, and the only thing standing in my way was math. After math I had to go to the graduation ceremony for the homeschoolers at my church. Yeah that was my day. Now you probably don’t read this blog to hear about my day. So, here’s the good stuff.

    I usually post about geeky stuff on here, but not very often geeky news. But right now I’m having a lapse of creativity, and I don’t have anything to post about. So, I’m going to be posting about my favorite geeky news stories. My favorite (geeky) news sites are Macrumors, Engadget, well I guess those are the only ones I read. They usually carry all the big important stories I need to here about. But since they report all the news they also talk about stuff I don’t care about. I’m going to post my favorite stories from these sites each day. This is day one so let’s give it a try.

    The PS3 has passed 5 million units sold in Europe, and has also been out selling the Xbox 360 in said continent. The PS3 has had a good few months since toshiba dropped HD DVD. The PS3 which has a built in bluray player has a lot to offer. There are rumors that PS3 is due for an update this fall. Not a big update like the intro of PS4 or anything. But the form factor is expected to get smaller, and the graphics, performance, innards to get updated. SOURCE: ENGADGET

     HTC revealed their newest creation yesterday. It is called the HTC TOUCH DIAMOND. It is a pretty little phone, that is presumed to be yet another iPhone competitor. I seriously doubt that any company in the world has what it takes to make an iPhone killer, or even competitor. That is unless blackberry ditches Windows mobile and gets rid of the keyboard. But, this device aside from the intentions of it’s makers has some prettiness in it. Here are the specs according to engadget.

  • Windows Mobile 6.1
  • VGA Screen
  • Quad-band HSDPA 7.2
  • One-touch navigation, including single-finger dialing
  • An accelerometer that rotates pictures as you rotate the phone
  • One-touch music playback with an animated music browser
  • A heavily-animated weather forecast app
  • Full-featured desktop-like web browser (Opera) with zoom-in tech that actually reformats to fit the screen upon zoom, although Microsoft promises IE 6 coming soon for it
  • Youtube app and content playback
  • Available in June in Europe via Orange and the “rest of the world” sometime later
  • Orange music store, games, wallpapers, and ringtone downloads
  • Orange mobile TV with up to 61 channels
  • No normal headphone jack – gotta use HTC’s proprietary USB dongle
  • “Better battery life” than their other devices — will offer a bigger battery at a later time for those who are experiencing battery life issues
  • No pricing info just yet

       SOURCE: ENGADGET

    This next one is one that’s been all over the news (even the the non geeky news). Microsoft dumps yahoo. Yup, after months of speculation of hostile take overs, playground like press releases, and rejected bids. Microsoft has walked away. It really never made sense for Microsoft to acquire Yahoo anyway. Well, maybe but not for such a huge price. If Microsoft really need what Yahoo had to offer they could have made their own company. But Yahoo never wanted to be bought anyways. They have done fine on there own for all these years. Shortly after the announcement of Microsoft leaving the fence, Yahoo’s stock price fell a considerable bit. This has made some people call for Yahoo’s CEO’s resignation, but I don’t see that happening. In a few months everything will probably be back to normal, and Yahoo will be doing fine. SOURCE: ENGADGET

    That’s all for right now folks. I hope to be out of this dip in creativity soon. I imagine you guys have already heard this news somewhere else, but not with my perspective. 🙂   

Gotta Go,

Ben Willis

2 Responses

  1. Thank you for good information~~*

    Please comeback to visit my blog too :http://touchscreen-system.blogspot.com/

    I’m sorry , If you think this is spam. but may i thank you again.

    Bye

  2. Thanks for stopping by. I will def visit your blog

Leave a Reply

